An Ancient Egyptian Inscription

IMG_5632.PNG
This saying was mentioned in a tv documentary I was watching earlier tonight, and it made me think about how I talk about my daughter. I love her name, and have done since I chose it for her. I’ll never know if she would have grown into her name (although I’m sure she would have!), or even if she would have preferred it to our earlier name choice of Scarlett. I love having these conversations with my mum about my name, and it’s a shame I won’t get to share these conversations with my own daughter.

Talking about Ivy is something I will always do because it keeps her memory alive for me. It’s often emotional to talk about her short life because any discussion about it inevitably contains details of her death which followed shortly after. But time is slowly helping me to heal.

My family speak of Ivy also which is lovely as it’s important to acknowledge her – I didn’t spend 9 months resisting the temptation to lick the spoon after baking to forget why I did it in the first place 🙂
Remembering her beautiful face makes me forget the sadness for a moment and allows me to feel the joy & wonder that every new mother feels – I created that beautiful baby! She was important to us all from the moment I found out I was pregnant, but she was especially important to me.

She was my dream.

I will have to elaborate on that in another post so you can (try to) understand that I’ve not just lost a child, but possibly the fulfilment of my dream. Time will tell.

Ivy, you are most certainly alive in my thoughts, and will be tucked away in my heart for as long as I live 🙂

Leave a Reply

