8 weeks on*

IMG_6135.JPG My gorgeous baby girl!! This will likely be the first and last picture of Ivy that I share with you – the others feel too personal.
This is one of my favourites as she isn’t covered in tubes and wires, and she’s wrapped in her brother’s blanket. It’s a special moment that I shared alone with her shortly after she took her final breaths.

Yesterday it was 8 weeks since Ivy was born. Thankfully the mini-anniversary of her birth was actually a lovely day thanks to my cousin’s wedding 🙂
Originally I had turned down their invitation as I expected to have a small baby who I wasn’t prepared to leave that early on. However, that obviously never came to be.
Besides having a lovely day watching my cousin walk down the aisle in her gorgeous dress with her 1 year old daughter carried down before her (absolutely adorable btw), I also got to say thank you to my cousins, Aunty and Uncle who bought me & my husband some incredibly thoughtful gifts – a copy of Ivy’s hand and footprint engraved onto sterling silver discs, along with her name and birth date.

I’ve put mine with her keyring on my car keys but it’ll soon be taken off as I’m beginning to worry about how I’d be if I lost my keys! The husband has her footprint, although I’ve popped it in our jewellery box for now as he seems undecided on what to do with it.

I was also fortunate enough to receive a necklace from another cousin and his wife which has Ivy’s name and birthstone – something I hadn’t even thought of! Ruby, just incase you were wondering.

IMG_6140-0.JPG
It’s small gestures like this which can really make a difference, and remind you that others are there to help pick you up when life deals you some pretty hefty blows.

*okay, so it’s actually now 10 weeks but I forgot to post this after drafting it!

16 thoughts on “8 weeks on*

  1. I am so sorry to read about the loss of your daughter. Ivy is beautiful and you are wonderful and brave for recording all of this. I hope in some small way it is of help to you. My thoughts are with you and your family and I wish you peace xx

    Like

    • Many thanks for your kind words – blogging about my experience is definitely helping me along, mainly because I’m often reminded of how generous others can be in times of need.
      I appreciate the time you’ve taken to write to me.

      Love from my family to yours xx

      Like

  2. Just a little message to let you know I think of you and Ivy often – you’re such a lovely lady and I genuinely hope you manage to find happiness again one day in the not too distant future x

    Like

    • Thank you Leanne.
      I think of you guys often – mainly with sadness that I’m no longer a part of your immediate circle but also out of curiosity, wondering what you & your babies are getting up to.
      Thank you for your message – all my love xxx

      Like

  3. I am so sorry about your loss. I cannot imagine what you are going through. While I lost a 19 year old son, each loss is uniquely its own – and desperately individual. My heart goes out to you. If you ever want to chat, please email me at recniky@gmail.com Jo

    Like

    • Hello Jo,
      I too agree that each loss is unique & highly individual – To lose a son who you’ve mothered for 19 years must have been dreadfully painful – I never knew the full extent of the pain that comes with grief until I was fully immersed in it.
      I’m so very sorry for your loss, and thank you for your offer of support, I’m very grateful xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a beautiful girl my darling. Will light a candle for your gorgeous Ivy tomorrow along with my candle for my little man. Miss you. Lots of love.xxx

    Like

  5. Just wanted to let you know that I think of you all and little Ivy often. Tomorrow I will be donating to SANDS and lighting a candle in memory of little Ivy. Lots of love, Elaine (from July mummies) xxx

    Like

    • Elaine – What can I say to your message other than Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I’ve just been writing a post for tomorrow so I was already on the brink of a meltdown & you sent me over the edge! All good tears though 🙂
      Love to you & your little ones xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

